Course features differ based on whether you're enrolled in the audit (free) or verified (paid) track of a course.
Note: These changes are effective December 17, 2018. Any course enrollments prior to this date are not impacted.
- Paid or Verified track: With this track, you will have access to all course materials including graded assignments. You will have unlimited access to this course material until the course ends. After the course ends, you will still have access to the material, but you will no longer be able to submit graded assignments or earn a certificate.
You will pay a fee when you select the Verified track. Your fee allows us to fund the running of the course, grade your work, and award you a certificate upon successful completion. You can add the certificate to your LinkedIn profile or resume, or in certain cases stack it towards a larger credential, such as a Professional Certificate or MicroMasters® program.
- Free or Audit track: With this track, you will have access to all course materials except graded assignments, and you will not earn a verified certificate the end of the course. You will be able to access the free content for the expected course length that you see on the course About Page (for example, 6 weeks). The time limit starts at the course start date or the learners enrollment date, whichever is second. After this duration, you will no longer be able to access that course material.
If you decide that you do want to earn the certificate, you can pay to switch to the verified track by the upgrade deadline and take the graded assignments required to earn the certificate. As always, financial assistance is available for learners who need it.
Upgrade deadlines are clearly displayed in a course banner.